Pages

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Why even play the games? It's already over!

For my first official post, I would like to talk about the "hype" train that is pulling up to this coming NFL season. According to the professional analysts and "experts" the season is over.

First, the Jets have pulled a Yankees and bought an All-Star Roster. They add all the names, such like Santonio Holmes, Cromartie, etc. Did they reference the Washington Redskins doing this earlier this past decade? Anyone remember them buying the likes of Deion Sanders, Bruce Smith, and company? Did that work? No, FAIL #1. The point with the Jets is that, all of the names and egos do not mean that these guys can all play together and be successful. Yet, the experts have them wrapping up the AFC East and coasting into the playoffs. Do they think, for a minute, that Tom Brady and the Pats won't have something to say about that?

Next, being that I'm in Baltimore, let's just head downtown and talk about the Ravens. Ask any "so-called" "die-hard" Ravens fan, and they'll say, "We added Boldin, now we got the Lombardi!" This nonsense is sickening. Boldin is giving the Ravens another WR like they already have, they NEED a down the field threat that they have never had. What they DO have is a solid running game with Rice and company. They have a solid line. The defense got boosted with a solid draft, but Mount Cody will fall out before he is on the field for more than 2 plays in a series. Ed Reed may not ever be what he was, which is a whole new topic in itself, overrated! Ed Reed is a tremendous ball-hawk, but that's all he is, a ball-hawk. He cannot lay a hit on anyone, in fact, I recall many games which he missed more tackles than he made. Again, people fall in love with stats and numbers, not overall production.

Which brings me to the most frustrating point of all.... Why do these "experts" get paid? I have not seen a single one, predict ANYTHING other than exactly what happened last season. They all have the Bengals winning the North with the Ravens #2. They all have the Colts winning and the Saints back in the Super Bowl. Where is the analyzing? The most solid analysis that I've heard is on Sirius NFL Radio. Those guys know their football. I hear many different picks such like, the Bears and Raiders having big years. They say more than how last season ended up... By the way, when has ANY 2 NFL seasons turned out the same?

So, let's go with the "experts" here and celebrate the season that is going to be in 2010. The Saints will in against the Colts in the Super Bowl and that is what it is...

Stay tuned to my next post to see what we can really expect this coming year!

No comments:

Post a Comment